Workit is a web application that allows all users involved with the work placement programme to manage all processes.

It enables young people, school coordinators, local authority administrators, health and safety officers and placement providers to plan, prepare, manage and take part in work placements, work-related learning and associated activities.

Teacher pointing to graph with student


Gateway has provided work placement services to Scottish local authorities since 1990. We are a leading provider in this area. Launched in 2008, Workit was created to manage this process and initially used in Inverclyde, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow and Renfrewshire.

Currently, 25 local authorities use our Workit web application to manage their work placement programme, meaning 246 (68%) of secondary schools across Scotland use Workit.

Workit was relaunched in January 2024, after undergoing a complete redesign, improving usability and functionality, providing a product that is easy to navigate, tailored to the user, and meets the requirement laid out in Education Scotland’s Work Placement Standard.

We are not aware of any other system or service which provides such comprehensive features. These include:

online work placement administration

online placement booking system

work placement management

employer liaison

school support

health and safety checking

integrated careers resources

compliance with DYW (Developing the Young Workforce) and Work Placements Standard

evaluations, surveys and reports

online system for the delivery of SQA’s Work Placement Unit.

Our Partners

Aberdeenshire Council
Clackmannanshire Council
Dumfries and Galloway Council
East Ayrshire Council
East Dunbartonshire Council
East Lothian Council
East Renfrewshire Council
Falkirk Council
Fife Council
Glasgow City Council
Inverclyde Council
Midlothian Council
The Moray Council
Morth Ayrshire Council
North Lanarkshire Council
Orkney Islands Council
Perth and Kinross Council
Renfrewshire Council
Scottish Borders Council
Shetland Islands Council
South Ayrshire Council
South Lanarkshire Council
Stirling Council
West Dunbartonshire Council
West Lothian Council